About the Awards

The Family Day Care Australia Excellence in Family Day Care Awards are the only national awards dedicated entirely to the family day care sector. The Excellence in Family Day Care Awards recognise the amazing work done by educators, coordinators and services in the family day care sector to deliver high quality early childhood education and care to children across Australia. We invite families, services and educators to tell us in their own words, what makes their educator, coordinator or approved service such an integral and special contributor to their lives and to the lives of the children in their care.

Award Categories

Click on the links below to view more information on each of the Excellence in Family Day Care Awards categories.

How do the awards work?

Nominations and submissions

During the nomination period (20 July - 13 August 2020) families, services and educators were invited to nominate their family day care educator, coordinator or approved service via a simple online nomination form.

When an educator, coordinator or approved service is nominated they are advised of their nomination via email. During the nomination period, a weekly email is sent to all nominees informing them that they have been nominated. A weekly nomination list is also published on this website.

Inside their email, nominees are invited to make a supporting submission against specific questions outlined in the online submission form. Nominees have until 23 August 2020 to complete their supporting submission.

Awards Judging

Once the submission deadline has passed, a number of judging phases take place in the lead up to the announcement of the Excellence in Family Day Care Awards National Winners.

Regional winners (educators only), Star Award winners and national finalists in each category are selected by an official FDCA selection committee. The FDCA selection committee* is made up of the following representatives, who each have extensive experience in the family day care sector:

  • Sarah Fowler – FDCA Board Director and Deputy Board Chair, Executive Director of Kentish Lifelong Learning and Care Inc
  • Phillipa Hargrave – FDCA Board Director and Service Manager of Communities@Work  Family Day Care and In Home Care
  • Fiona Pattinson - FDCA Board Director and Team Leader of Greater Hume Children Services
  • Georgina Zadelj - FDCA Board Director and Family Day Care Educator registered with Cassowary Coast Family Day Care

Following the selection of the national finalists by the FDCA selection committee, each finalist is reviewed by Perry Campbell, Deputy National Education Leader of the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA). Following this review process a national winner from each category is selected. These winners are the 2020 Excellence in Family Day Care Awards Educator of the Year, Coordinator of the Year and Service of the Year.

*Services that are directly related to FDCA Board Directors or FDCA staff are not eligible for an award.